Janet Evanovich & Read Alikes

The women in the county jail are in love with Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum series! And the men are now starting to catch onto the series!

Popular series are hard to come by in the jail library. In part is that people who buy them want to keep and collect the entire series until it is finished and then donate them when they are ready. An other part is, that many of the popular reads are released as hardcovers first and therefor cannot be in the jail library until they are softcovers. (The bottom two books were hard covers that were converted into soft covers to be allowed in the jail.)

As I brought in my Janet Evanovich finds from a book sale, the same day a patron donated five of her own books that her husband bought for her (patrons can only be sent brand new books directly from book sellers). This really increased out our collection considerably, but by how fast they are being read, the desire for the rest of the series will come fast. One patron said to an other, “This will just take me a couple of hours to read.”

Male patrons had not been too interested in the series until this week. One of our big (an one of the few) male romance readers is trying out the series and the mystery genre. An other patron who has read most of the mystery section started with book # 7, and scooped up all of the first six books (the limit of books checked out at one time). As he was checking his new books out, he laughed as he told us about the main character.

As patrons might get antsy about needing more of the Stephanie Plum series, I started looking for read alikes. Below are some links.

http://www.akronlibrary.org/internetresources/pop/favfiction/evanovich.pdf

http://www.lititzlibrary.org/lititz/lib/lititz/pdfs/author_readalikes.pdf

http://www.websterlibrary.org/files/4113/4081/7122/Janet_Evanovich_readalikes.pdf

http://pinalcountyaz.gov/Departments/Library/Resources/Documents/SizzlingSixteen.pdf

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s